Source Information

JewishGen Hungarian Special Interest Group volunteers, comp. Hungary, Death Records collected by Rabbis in Various Counties, 1800-1914 (not all years) [database on-line]. Provo, UT, USA: Operations Inc, 2008.
Original data: Database transcribed from original records located on microfilm at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. Specific microfilm information is provided with each record. This data is provided in partnership with

About Hungary, Death Records collected by Rabbis in Various Counties, 1800-1914 (not all years)

This database contains information on deaths from various towns in Hungary from 1800 to 1914. It is compiled by the JewishGen Hungarian Special Interest Group and is transcribed from microfilm copies of original records. The microfilm copies are located at the LDS Family History Library. The original data was created by rabbis in each community (or for small communities, in centralized district registers) as required by the Emperor. These records are handwritten in German, Hebrew, or Hungarian.

The database includes the following fields:

  • Name — Surname and Given Name(s) of the deceased

  • Date of Death — Day-Month-Year

  • Father — Father’s Given Name(s) – the first name of the person’s father

  • Mother — The Given Name(s) and Maiden Name of the person’s mother

  • Town — The Town where the death occurred, and the Town where the death was registered

  • Jaras / Meyge — The District and County of the Town where the death was registered

  • Comments — Other useful information in the record, such as the town of birth, cause of death, marital status, age, etc.

  • Source — LDS Microfilm Number, used to order the microfilm from an LDS Family History Center, or other source

  • Record Number — The purpose of the record number is to aid in finding the original record on the microfilm or other source of vital records. We are now standardizing on the format PPP-NN, where PPP represents the page number within a film, or volume, and NN represents the item number on that page. Some older records may have the system YYYY-N (where YYYY = the year of the record and N = the record number from that year associated with the record) or simply the number associated with a record for small towns.

It should be understood by all researchers that these are index files, and no attempt was made to replicate all the data in the original registers. Researchers should go to the source record, wherever possible, to obtain additional information such as witnesses, notes by the registrar, and other information.

Contents of the Database:

There are about 35,000 records in the database to date, including the following:

TownCountyModern Town & Country (if different)Dates
BerczelSzabolcs 1854-1885
Bezded SzabolcsTiszabezded, HU1876-1885
Bittse TrencsénBytca, SK1856-1887
BodrogkeresztúrZemplén 1827-1895
Bokony Szabolcs 1800-1885
CertižnéZemplénCertižné, SK1907-1940
ChropoNyitraChropov, SK1852-1894
DebrecenHajdú 1859-1895
DombrádSzabolcs 1878-1895
EncsencsSzabolcs 1871-1885
ErdobenyeZemplén 1840-1895
FelsöszvidnikSárosSvidník, SK1878-1895
FenyeslitkeSzabolcs 1858-1895
GalszecsZemplénSecovce, SK1854-1895
GavaSzabolcsGávavencsello, HU1860-1895
Gelse, Hugyaj, & Ibrony SzabolcsNyirgelse, Erpatak, & Nyiribront, HU1849-1885
Gemzse, Besenyo, & DogheSzabolcsGemzse, Besenyod & Döge, HU1856-1892
GeszteredSzabolcs 1852-1883
GyorGyor 1846-1895
Gyulaháza, Nyirlugos, PiricseSzabolcs 1836-1895
HajdúnánásHajdú 1852-1895
HomonnaZemplénHumenne, SK1851-1895
KallosemjenSzabolcs 1810-1890
KarászSzabolcsNyírkarász, HU1878-1895
KecskemetPest-Pilis-Solt-Kis-Kun 1832-1891
KiskunfelegyhazaPest-Pilis-Solt-Kis-Kun 1869-1890
KiskunmajsaPest-Pilis-Solt-Kis-Kun 1850-1895
KisvardaSzabolcs 1851-1895
MádZemplén 1828-1880
MandokSzabolcs 1850-1895
MateszalkaSzatmár 1863-1895
MiskolcBorsod 1836-1885
Moson & Magyar-OvárMosonMosonmagyaróvár, HU1895-1911
Nagy IdaAbaúj-TornaVelká Ida, SK1851-1885
NagykalloSzabolcs 1844-1895
NyirbatorSzabolcs 1852-1895
NyirbogatSzabolcs 1851-1885
NyíregyházaSzabolcs 1866-1895
OlaszliszkaZemplén 1841-1895
ÖrladánySzabolcsMezoladány, HU1876-1885
PolgarSzabolcs 1876-1885
SárospatakZemplén 1835-1895
SátoraljaújhelyZemplén 1851-1895
SzerencsZemplén 1827-1895
SzinyérváraljaSzatmárSeini, ROM1855-1857
TarczalZemplénTarcal, HU1827-1895
TiszalokSzabolcs 1832-1894
TokajZemplén 1827-1895
TolcsvaZemplén 1841-1895
UjlétaBihar 1897
VamospercsHajdú 1852-1914